Discovered by Jean Maury on April 29, 1924, The Grotte du Grand Roc was fitted out and opened to visitors in 1927. It opens halfway up an impressive cliff overlooking the Vézère valley with Eyzies.
The only cave in the Dordogne listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Grand Roc is an exceptional gem. A true "mineral jewelry", it contains an extraordinary quantity of minerals of all kinds, and each one more eccentric than the next. Gours crystals, fistulous concretions, stalagmites and sometimes translucent stalactites, crystals in the shape of a triangle, it is a real mineral forest in which you will evolve.
Located right next to the Grotte du Grand Roc, the shelter of Laugerie-Basse is a French Paleolithic site that is in a rock shelter. It is the subject of multiple protections as a historical monument, archaeological site and world heritage.
February 8 - April 3 *
April 4 - July 5
July 6 - August 28
August 29 - November 1
November 2 - January 3, 2021 *
* closed Mondays outside school holidays
Closed on December 25, 2020 and January 1, 2021
Last admission: 1 hour before closing
- Shelters of Laugerie-Basse: 1h15 before closing
- Grotte du Grand Roc & Shelters of Laugerie Basse: 2 hours before closing